Greatness Awaits

Before you continue, watch this video.  Don’t just skip over it and say you watched it.  I’ll know if you do.  And we will have a conversation:

 

I love this commercial.

I love it for the unabashed smugness of the narrator, I love it for the weird-ass stuff happening in the background and, most of all, I love it because it makes me proud of my video game accomplishments.  I’ve rallied rival civilizations against a common threat.  I’ve fended off countless alien invasions.  I’ve inspired an army to fight on despite impossible odds.  And I’ve done all of these things from the comfort of my couch, often with a purring cat sleeping on my lap.  While I am more proud of the accomplishments that I’ve made in real life (because, you know, it’s real life), there is a part of me that can’t wait to charge proudly into a virtual world to collect golden points and the heads of vanquished foes.

There are three games that are currently on my plate: The Soviet-era border inspection bonanza that is Papers, Please; Rogue Legacy, the dungeon-crawler that keeps it all in the family; and The Bureau: XCOM Declassified an ambitious prequel to one of my favorite games of all time, XCOM: Enemy Unknown.  I had lots to say about my experience, and SLUG magazine was nice enough to publish that action.  Check this out, along with some other reviews of recent titles by my fellow SLUGgers.

Also, here’s some gameplay for Crypt of the Necrodancer.  As soon as this hits Steam, I’m so downloading it:

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

